Transition Student Council

Memo to :                      AGSB Community
Memo from :                      (sgd.) Dennis Ryan V Cruz
                        Director, Student Activities and Formation
Thru: :                       (sgd.) Jowett Cecilio F Magsaysay, PhD
Date :                       31 March 2024

Subject                  :                       Transition Student Council


As you know, our School has been enhancing and revitalizing its structure and processes these past two years in preparation for the recently concluded Philippine Accrediting Association of Schools, Colleges, and Universities (PAASCU) visit last February. Though much had already been successfully achieved, more is yet to be done in line with the long-term goals of the school. As you also know, our School is transitioning to learning modes requiring a higher percentage of onsite hours, as mandated by the Commission for Higher Education. The student volunteers and leaders played a vital role these past few months in working with PAASCU and assisting with various intricacies to comply with the CHED directive. Still, more is yet to be done. It is for this reason that I requested the current Student Council Officers to extend their services this time as members of a Transition Council with the following mandates:

1. Continue the governance initiatives agreed upon with the school administration in line with the 2024 PAASCU recommendations

2. Continue to work with the School Administration regarding preparing and communicating with the student body as the School complies with CHED directives

3. Continue to assist in attending to student body concerns

4. Finalize the control systems started for the benefit of future student leaders


This extension will allow continuity in terms of student representation and completion of strategic tasks started as outlined above. Appointed as part of the Transition Government are the following:

a. TSC Head – Angela Camille Centeno

b. Deputy Head – Emil Jon Buentipo

c. Secretariat – Therese Antoinette Caparros, Elaine Hazel Grande and Alyssa Justine Samaniego

d. Finance Team – Ruth Elizabeth Obioma and Elmer Sarmiento

e. Council of Representatives – Francisco Sy-Changco III, Felomino Bacquiano II, Melvin Gabriel Ignacio, Jose Roberto Aquino and Ceazar Ian Solinap

I also created a Team of consultants independent of the Transition Council to assist the Office of Student Activities and Formation and School Administration with various developmental projects that are in line with the long-term goals of the school. The team will be composed of past SC presidents and former Regis and Middle Managers Representatives:

a. Shannen Tan (SC President S.Y. 2020-2021)

b. Victoria De la Paz (SC President S.Y. 2021-2022)

c. Armie Aileen Dela Cruz-Vidad (SC President S.Y. 2022-2023)

d. Divina Gracia Antang (Regis Representative SY 2022-2023)

e. Anna Cruz (SC Regis Representative S.Y. 2021-2022)

f. Joyce Anne Delos Reyes (SC Middle Managers Representative S.Y. 2021- 2022)

The period of service for both bodies shall be from April 8, 2024, until August 30, 2024, in time for the induction of the new set of SC officers. A separate advisory for this will be released in the future. I would also like to thank the current batch of Student Council Officers for their generosity of time and service.

For our guidance.