Strategic and Marketing Management Department

Aligui ok

Gemiliano D.L. Aligui, MD, MPH, PhD


Strategic and Marketing Management

Doctor of Philosophy (Biological and Medical Sciences)

Dr. Gemiliano Aligui is a medical doctor with a Master of Public Health and a PhD in Biology (Graduate Program in Epidemiology and Gerontology at Brown University, Providence, RI, USA). He was the Assistant Director of the Research Institute for Tropical Medicine (RITM) of the Dept. of Health (1999-2001). He was also the former Executive Director of the Philippine Council for Health Research and Development (PCHRD) of the Dept. of Science and Technology (DOST) (2002-2004). For a short period within his stint in the DOST, he was Officer-in-Charge of the Food and Nutrition Research Institute (FNRI). Between 2010 and 2013 he was with the Ateneo School of Medicine and Public Health (ASMPH) as Faculty and as Research Coordinator, concurrent as the Chair of the Research Committee of The Medical City.  In 2012-15 he was Dean of the, Graduate School, University of the East Ramon Magsaysay Memorial Medical Center (UERMMMCI).  In 2014 he assumed a full-time position as the Vice President for Academic Affairs of UERM.  Concurrently, he is also a part-time faculty of the UERM Graduate School. He is a member of the Expert Panel for Neglected Tropical Diseases of the DOH.  In the “Ranking of scientists in Philippine Institutions according to their Google Scholar Citations public profiles “, (June 2016),

Dr. Aligui is listed as the 50th of the top 453 Filipino scientists. He is a Diplomate of the Philippine Pediatric Society, an Associate Member of the National Research Council of the Philippines, as well as a member of the American College of Epidemiology, the American Diabetes Association and the Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA). He is the Chair of the FNRI Institutional Ethics Committee, a member of the IRB of RITM, the Clinical Epidemiologist of the Institute of Personalized Molecular Medicine of the Medical City, and a consultant of the RITM Research and Innovation Office.



Back To:

Faculty Members